I have been really aching for not having the chance to post something on this site.

I blame this:

This is just a quarter of all the papers I had to prepare.

This is just a quarter of all the papers I had to prepare.

Paperwork for the Governing Council Meeting.

Basically, a Governing Council meeting or GC meeting is held by the agency to assess what sorts of projects to fund. Scientists asking for financial support for their research will have to present and justify that their research is worth spending for by the Filipino people.

The Governing Council, people who are experts in the field of health and health research, will see to it that only those that have huge potential for success and have huge benefits for mankind are funded by the National Government. This way we do not waste the limited resource of the sector.

I sat in the meeting as the secretariat, which means I was the one responsible everything that must be done to make sure the meeting happens. I had to prepare the conference hall, make sure to order food, and also prepare the kits of proposals to be sent to each member of the Council. I was also tasked to write the minutes of the meeting, which I am currently doing at the moment.

The papers of the picture above were copies of the proposals that I had to collate into kits so the GC members can peruse throughout all the proposals. These wee just like a quarter of the 8 projects that were proposed for approval or renewal. Thankfully, a coworker helped me with my burden.

Below is her photo brandishing a kris, a traditional Islamic sword in Southern Philippines, that was borrowed by the Council from a Muslim Princess in Mindanao (no joke) for an event.

That's my coworker showing me how to correctly wave a sword. She was like "Make sure to aim for the butt when thrusting your sword." Then she smiled weirdly.

That’s my coworker showing me how to correctly wave a sword. She was like, “Make sure to aim for the butt when thrusting your sword.” Then she smiled weirdly.

4 responses »

  1. Odee says:

    that’s one mean sword she got haha! srsly, that’s a real one??

    ugghh for papers! one of the things i love about working in the BPO industry is not taking any work home. but that’s just me tho haha. 🙂

  2. You could definitely use a larger table!

    • Richmond says:

      There were bigger tables, but alas, a coworker was occupying them as she was preparing the handouts for a research writing/editing workshop for 200 plus guests.

Leave a Reply

